Home > Uncategorized > Some People Leave a Mark on the World; You May Leave a Stain…

Some People Leave a Mark on the World; You May Leave a Stain…

Growing up, I’d always been taught that if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all. And that’s been my modus operandi during all my years in Washington.

Granted, I would rant and rave in private about the idiocy of this person in the Senate, the obtuseness of this person in the House, the self-aggrandizement of this NGO leader or the self-possession of this journalist.

But for the most part, I’ve held my tongue when confronting the person directly. From staff members who worked barely 30% of the time or whom I didn’t fire because they would never find another job, to critics who made accusations too outrageous to be true even in comic books, I’ve held my tongue and played the nice guy.

To be honest, I’m over that.

There is too much object stupidity and outright ignorance on all fronts these days. To not comment, to say nothing, to hold my tongue, to not be honest…is irresponsible. The country and the world needs honesty. Not political correctness, not open loving touchy-feelu arms. The world needs a smack in the head.

So if I tap you on the shoulder and say, “Excuse me, you’re stupid,” don’t take it personally. It isn’t partisan, it isn’t personal, it isn’t anything but a reality check.

And since I live in Washington, this may become a full-time job…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

