Home > Uncategorized > The End of One Era, The Beginning of Another

The End of One Era, The Beginning of Another

While I am usually an overwhelming evangelist of Apple’s iPhone and its ingenuity, ease and gracefulness, I must admit that I was a bit disappointed in its functioning while in Morocco.

While my colleagues on the trip had no connections issues with their AT&T-networked Blackberries, my iPhone gave me no such simplicity of use.

So it was a great relief and joy whenever I was able to find WiFi, which was far more often than one would intuitively expect in the Western Sahara, allowing me to download emails and check on the status of the universe.

During one such download session on May 26, I received an email that was both saddening and inspiring.

For 25 years, Kit Bigelow has been a voice for the voiceless in Washington and around the globe. Serving as Director of External Affairs for The National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá’ís of the U.S., Kit has been an opinion leader in countless human rights, women’s rights, and religious freedom fights.

Her voice has been one of rationality, intelligence, and sense in the advocacy world, and her presence one of calming wisdom.

On June 18, 2010, Kit will retire from her role at the National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá’ís of the U.S.

When I founded THE INSTITUTE on Religion and Public Policy 11 years ago, Kit was among the first people to call and wish me luck. She has stood by me as a friend, guide, and mentor, even when we did not agree on a particular issue.

I realize this post sounds more like a eulogy than it should, so please forgive me Kit! But your absence from the human rights community as the advocate, leader, strength, and voice that you have been will be missed by all.

I wish Kit all the happiness and joy in the world and many blessings for whatever challenges she chooses to tackle (and conquer) next!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

